New AduLt and Juvenile Titles!
Monday: 9:30am - 5pm
T, W, TH: 9:30am - 5:30pm
Friday: 9:30am - 5:00pm
Saturday: 10am - 12pm
Closed Memorial Day,
^Click above to see the library catalog!^
HPL Ebook Services
April/May Craft Kits to Go! Mother's Day Gifts for K-6.
Tuesday, May 4th from
1 to 5pm
1) Masks Still Required
2) Lobby Book Drop Off, No Returns at Circulation Desk
3) Books Quarantined
4) 4 Computers Available
5) No Toys or Puzzles
6) Programs: Craft Kits to Go
Hillsboro Public Library
214 School St.,
Hillsboro, IL 62049
Via Phone or Email:
Phone: (217) 532-3055
Fax: (217) 532-6813
How do I Sign Up for a Library Card?
If you live in Montgomery County AND within the school district boundaries, you are eligible for a library card. To become a member, you must bring in 2 forms of proof of address of residency or property.
Acceptable Forms of Proof of Address:
1. Tax Bill
2. Driver's License (Current Address) or State ID
3. Ameren Bill (Utility bill)
4. Water bill (Utility bill)
5. Lease or Mortagage
6. Voter's ID
7. Other bill (Postmarked within 1 month)
8. Voided Personalized Check
Reciprocal Borrowing: Families or Individuals from other libraries such as Witt, Litchfield, Doyle (Raymond), Greenville, and Nokomis, can also use our library as a "Reciprocal Borrower". Please provide proof of current library card.
FYI: This library provides "family cards," we do not give out student cards, because a parent or guardian must be responsible for the borrowing of materials by minors under the age of 18, especially in the event the book is lost or damaged.
Non-Residents: If you live in Bond County, or out of the school district boundaries, you must pay $72 for your library card, effective July 1, 2020. The "non-resident" fee is based on a mathematical formula from the state, calculated based on library taxes and population.
Commonly Asked Questions about Library Cards.
1) Why do I have to pay an annual fee if I am considered a non-resident?
It is the law. According to the Illinois Local Library Act, state law,
(75 ILCS, 5/4-7) if you do not live within the library district boundaries, you are not paying for the library within your property taxes and therefore considered a non-resident and have to pay a fee for services comparable to local taxpayers.
Please refer to our policies page for more information about this law.
2) Why is the fee so high?
Actually it is pretty comparable to Litchfield's fee. Please refer to: Illinois Non-resident Fees for FY 2017. Our fee has recently changed to $72.00 due to a change in tax revenue and patron population.
3) Can I use my Litchfield, Nokomis or Witt card at Hillsboro?
Yes and Vice Versa. This is called reciprocal borrowing. We will ask to make a copy of your card, possibly contact the library where your card was issued and make sure you are in good standing. Then you can check-out materials!
Services and Fees
$2 donation .25 per page
Free for members .50 for color
.25 per page
$3 for First Page, $1.00 per Additional
Interlibrary Loan: Ebooks:
Free with 1) Overdrive
library card 2) Axis 360
Books for Sale
.25 or 5 for $1.00
.25 paperback, .50 hardback
How Do I Renew or Hold a book?
Call us at (217) 532-3055 or Stop In and Visit!
Hold or Interlibrary Loan Request:
Call (217) 532-3055 or